top of page
  • Writer's pictureMrs. Cancio

Meet Mrs. Cancio!

Hi and welcome to the blog!


I thought for my first blog post I would introduce myself! My name is Jessica Cancio and I am the art teacher at the BEST school in the world: Pinnacle Peak Preparatory in sunny Scottsdale, Arizona! I moved from Toledo, Ohio to Scottsdale, Arizona with my husband, my horse, and our two dogs. Last October our family grew by one and we now have a little 6 month old boy who is the light of our world!


I am currently in my tenth year teaching and I teach K-6 art at our school. In Ohio, I taught elementary art for six years and high school art for two. I was actually really excited to switch back to teaching the "littles" because they are ALWAYS excited for art AND they make me feel like a celebrity! I love their openness to creativity, their willingness to learn, and they are FUNNY! I find myself laughing and smiling with them through the majority of the day. Don't get me wrong... its not always sunshine and rainbows in here... but for the most part we have a lot of fun in art!


My hope for this blog is that I can inspire fellow art teachers with lessons, advise, and lots of real-life experience. I've had plenty of grand slams and plenty of "NEVER doing that agains!" lol! I've learned not to re-invent the wheel and beg, borrow, and steal lessons, ideas, and advise! You should never be afraid to "go for it!" and some of my best ideas come five minutes before the kiddos walk in! BUT... I usually choose another tried and true lesson with some less prep for some of my other classes. Something I've learned to do with experience!


So thank you for following me and my kiddos on our art journey! I hope you find the blog helpful AND entertaining!


Happy teachin! And remember... art teachers rock!


-Jessie Cancio

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page